Home About Us Attached Subordinate Offices Office of the Salt Commissioner

Office of the Salt Commissioner

The Salt Commissioner’s organisation with its headquarters at Jaipur is headed by the Salt Commissioner, who is assisted by five Deputy Salt Commissioners, nine Assistant Salt Commissioners and other supporting staff. There are five regional offices functioning at Chennai, Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Jaipur and Kolkata, besides field offices in all the salt producing states. The Salt organisation is responsible for monitoring production, distribution, supply of salt and administration of Salt Cess Act, 1953 and Rules made thereunder. The organisation is nodal agency for monitoring production, distribution and quality of iodised salt under National Iodine deficiency control programme of the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. The other functions of the organisation include, price surveillance, promotion of technological development, maintenance of standards and quality improvement of salt, planning, formulation and monitoring the execution of development and labour welfare schemes, custody and superintendence of departmental salt lands and other assets, promotion of exports, pre-shipment inspection and rehabilitation of salt works affected by the natural calamities.